The APA Guide
https://guides.rasmussen.edu/apa
使用APA指南查找格式化，创建文本引用和引用的帮助。首先看着APA快速入门视频在主页上。然后查看APA工具包中的资源。
对于the final project you will be completing anAnnotated Bibliography。
Anannotated bibliography is thefull APA Referenceof a source followed bynotes and commentary about a so武器。T他的话语“annotate” means “critical or explanatory notes” and the word “bibliography” means “a list of sources”. Annotations are meant to be critical in addition to being descriptive.
Visit theAnnotated Bibliography Pageof the APA Guide for guidance and examples. You can also visit thetab at the top of the boxfor more help.
Welcome to the Locating and Evaluating Information Guide!
This guide is designed to provide you with additional resources that will help you successfully navigate and complete this course. You will notice thatthere are boxes below that correspond to modules in the course:
Topic/Information Ethics/Evaluate Resources/Search/Books/学术期刊/Magazines/Newspapers
Notice that there are alsotabs at the top of each boxfor you to click through.Take some time to browse this guide by clicking on various tabs, or go right to the section that will help you with where you are in the course.
Click and explore!
Before beginning a research project, read the assignment thoroughly and try to answer the following questions:
Consider using brainstorming techniques to identify a topic.
Search reference books including encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries to find basic information on your topic. In some cases, reading an overview article on a broad topic can aid in narrowing a topic for a research assignment.
Consult these databases to find background information:
Often it is a good idea to do a general search for articles on your topic to see if there is reliable, credible, and current information on your chosen topic. In other words, test your topic by performing a general search in theDiscovery All-in-One Searchtool.
View the video below to learn how to search this "all in one" resource:
论文陈述的目的是向读者通知究竟将在纸质或书面作业中涵盖的内容。事实上，一份书面论文陈述可以通过清楚地说明您对一个主题的立场以及在整个论文过程中来证明您的立场来提供本文的结构。咨询您的工作轮廓可能有助于开发论文陈述。此外，如果您的论文陈述随着研究和了解更多关于您的主题的更多信息，请不要感到惊讶！
A well-written thesis statement:
A thesis statement is never:
Watch the video below to learn more about writing good thesis statements.
Using information ethically includes crediting creators of source material used in a research paper or academic assignment. View the video below for tips on how to avoid inadvertent plagiarism.
Section 106的著作权法列出了exclusive rights of copyright owners. The remaining sections of Chapter 1 describe a number of exceptions and limitations on those rights. Exceptions most common in educational settings are Section 107: Fair Use; Section 108: Reproduction by Libraries and Archives; Section 109: Transfer (Right of First Sale).
The doctrine of fair use allows the reproduction of a copyrighted work if used for “criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research” (U.S. Copyright Office, 2012, para. 2). Determining whether the use of copyrighted material is acceptable under the doctrine of Fair Use is not always clear. Obtaining permission from the owner of the copyrighted material is always the best course of action. However, interpretation of the doctrine of fair use should be guided by the following factors:
Court Opinions Interpreting Fair Use
Click on the link below to view court opinions interpreting fair use of copyright protected resources:
It is very important to be aware that not all sources of information are credible. Especially when searching the internet, you should maintain constant vigilance toward ensuring the validity of any sources you use for your assignments.
A helpful tool for evaluating your search results is theSCRAAP Test。This has you look at the following components of the resource:
以下选项卡将提供有关这些组件中的每一个的更多信息。
Self-Awareness:The awareness that personal biases my influence how information is consumed and interpreted.
Currency:信息的及时性
Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs
Authority: the source of the information
Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content
Purpose: the reason the information exists
The first thing to do when starting research in a database is to brainstorm some search terms to use.
Search terms are brief, concise words or phrases that represent the core idea(s) of your topic.
For example, instead of searching with a sentence like this:
How children are affected when they have a parent in prison?
It will be more effective to search with terms like this:
监禁和家庭和效果
On the following tabs, you will see how to go through the process to come up with your own search terms.
One of the easiest ways to come up with search terms is to identify the core concepts of your topic.
Let's continue with the sample topic from the previous tab: how children are affected when they have a parent in prison?
You can start breaking that topic up into separate ideas. For example:
children
parents
prison
效果
既然您正在考虑这些主题，在下一个选项卡上，我们将看到如何提出您可以在搜索中使用的其他术语。
既然你已经把你的话题分解为概念，让我们再次看看那些：
children
parents
prison
效果
When you are searching for resources, it's important to remember that different authors will use different terms, so you want to come up with synonyms or related terms that you can use in your search. For example:
In addition to tryingchildrenandparents, try the termfamilies。
In addition toprison, tryincarceration。
In addition to效果, try结果。
Trying out all kinds of different terms that apply to your topic will help you to find the most results.
Boolean Operatorsconnect keywords or concepts logically to retrieve relevant articles, books, and other resources. There are three Boolean Operators:
UsingAND
Example: The result list will include resources that include both keywords -- "distracted driving" and "texting" -- in the same article or resource, represented in the shaded area where the circles intersect (area shaded in purple).
UsingOR
Example: The result list will include resources that include the keyword "texting" OR the keyword "cell phone" (entire area shaded in blue); either is acceptable.
UsingNOT
示例：结果列表将包括包括术语“汽车”（绿色区域）的所有资源，而是将排除包括术语“摩托车”（紫色区域）的任何资源，即使术语汽车可能存在于资源中。
那么这是否适用于你的搜索吗?的金属氧化物半导体t part, you will want to use AND to connect relevant search terms. For example:
families AND incarceration AND effects
But you can also use OR if you want to try more than one related term in the same search. For example:
家庭和监禁或监狱和影响
根据您的搜索条件，您可能还需要搜索使用精确的短语或截断。
To search for an exact phrase, you can put quotations around a group of words. For example, a search for"incarcerated parent"只会找到那些将这些词汇作为短语的那些资源。
Truncation is a technique used in searching where you can search using part of a word to find all possible iterations of it. For example, instead of doing separate searches withprisonandprisoners, truncating the term toprison*will search for all possible endings of that word.
The databases will often give you other search options to consider. These are the most common:
日期范围
You will often see an option to limit your results to a certain date range. This can be really helpful for filtering out resources that are out of date.
For most topics, ten years is the oldest you will want to go, but you may want to use a smaller range if you are researching anything related to technology. Think of the cell phone or computer you had ten years ago, and you'll easily see why that is important. Technology changes very quickly!
Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
Many databases will give an option to limit to scholarly, peer reviewed journals. If that is something your assignment requires, check the box for this option to make sure all of your results are scholarly.
For more information on the terms "scholarly" and "peer reviewed," check out our Answer这里。
Watch these short video demonstrations of simple database searches to better understand how to search and locate useful resources.
eBooksare electronic versions of printed books and can be accessed online. You can access eBooks using the以下链接。For additional information and help with eBooks, use thetab at the top of the box。
"Scholarly“通常意味着本文被编写了报告了在同一领域专家的其他人的实际研究（例如对一群人进行的研究）。学术文章是由其他专家的专家撰写的。因为它的目的是文章和预期的受众，学术文章倾向于报告统计和观察。他们倾向于以更学院的语言编写而不是一个人在一个受欢迎的杂志中读的人。也倾向于在主题方面非常具体或专注。不要指望在学术文章中找到广泛的概要。
If you think you're reading a scholarly article but you're not sure, check whether it includes the following types of sections which are typical for scholarly articles.
You can access scholarly journals使用link below。For additional information and help with scholarly journals, use thetab at the top of the box。
Amagazineis a publication that is issued periodically and typically specializes in a specific subject or area.You can access magazines使用以下链接。有关杂志的其他信息和帮助，请使用tab at the top of the box。
Anewspaperis a regularly printed publication usually containing news articles, opinions, and advertisements.You can access newspapers使用以下链接。For additional information and help with newspapers, use thetab at the top of the box。
